"Everyone" vs. "Members"

Does anyone else think it’s super confusing that when you’re creating an event and you want to invite “everyone,” you click on “everyone,” but when you want to send an email to “everyone,” you click on “members”? Whenever I go to send an email, I’m always looking for the “everyone” checkbox, which doesn’t exist. I definitely understand what TT means by “members,” but it would be helpful if those terms were consistent throughout the site. Do other users agree? I’d love your opinion on this!

6 Likes

Yes! I agree. If the term was consistent it would be easier to find.

2 Likes

Agreed. Terms need to be consistent if they mean the same thing. If clicking everyone & members brings up the same people, then yes, they should be the same term.

2 Likes

Consistent terminology throughout would be very helpful. I’m always doubting myself if it’s being done correctly because of this.

2 Likes

Makes sense to me! I’m still learning, but agree on consistency. I like the concept of everyone and members being different and consistent terminology.

1 Like

YES!! Please make this consistent! And is there really a difference between Leaders/Adults?!

1 Like

This is actually a fantastic point! Because when I was new, the term “members” confused me because it means “TroopTrack members,” not members of the organization. There are lots of people in my troop’s TT who are not members of our organization. For example, parents who don’t register as members. So they’re not members of AHG (or BSA or GSUSA or whatever) but they are members of TT. Using “everyone” instead of “members” makes that more clear. Side note, when I send a note to “leaders,” TT automatically includes all adult members, not just those in a leadership role. It can be so confusing and I’m never sure exactly who I’m sending to until after I send it!