JSON data formatting

I’m confused - sorry. I’m not an expert at JSON stuff but I’m learning. I don’t understand why some API calls give me back data formatted the way it is. For example, the award_types response is something like:

{
  "award_types": {
    "49": {
      "name": "Boomerang"
    },
    "54": {
      "name": "Achievement"
    },
(etc)
 }
}

Why is the “49” there like that? When I look at JSON tutorials it says it should look like this:

“employees”:[
{“firstName”:“John”, “lastName”:“Doe”},
{“firstName”:“Anna”, “lastName”:“Smith”},
{“firstName”:“Peter”,“lastName”:“Jones”}
]

When I copy the award_types response into a JSON to CSV or JSON to C# Class utility I get rubbish out - stuff like this:

public class __invalid_type__49
{
    public string name { get; set; }
}

public class __invalid_type__54
{
    public string name { get; set; }
}

The JSON to CSV converters usually give me back the whole dataset on one line with lots of columns.

I get that it is valid JSON - I’m just not sure why it’s being generated the way it is. It seems really hard (to my novice brain) to do anything much useful with it.

Other things work fine - user_achievements works exactly as I would expect and generates a sensible CSV file or C# class.

I’ve mostly got my solution working - I can query which parts of an award (Bronze/Silver/Gold Boomerang) all the Cubs have done - from this I generate a CSV file which does what I want except it’s missing the column headings (which come from the achievements API call.

If I could work out how to interpret the JSON output from “Award Types” & “Achievement” operations I’d be set.

1 Like

I can’t say for certain since I don’t work for TroopTrack, but the choice of the data for the Award Types example that you show is something I could guess.