Bear Badge Requirements 2016+

Good Evening!

I noticed that under the new modifications one of the adventures changed. Grin and Bear It is now an elective and Baloo the Bear is now the adventure. Can you please change the wording for these 2 items so they reflect correctly in the system?

Amy Hinkle
Pack 77

Hi @ahinkle,

Please use the “Bear Badge (2016 +)” for the updated requirements.

I am using that, however the Baloo the Builder 2016 is labeled as “Bear Elective” and Grin and Bear It 2016 is labeled as “Bear Adventure”. This is incorrect.



Oh, I see what you are saying now. I made the change and it should be fixed across the board if not now, then soon.

Thank you so much. Have a great day!

Hi mlsully2002, I still see Baloo the Builder as a required achievement and Grin and Bear it as an elective.
But on it shows as Grin and Bear it as a required adventure and Baloo the Builder as an elective.

Is there something at my end I need to do to fix this?

Marty Buckley
Bear Den Leader
Pack 41 Hingham.

It looks like the BSA has not updated their site for the new 2016 requirements. Baloo the Builder was previously an elective but was changed to be required and Grin and Bear It took its place. Please see these links:,, and

I have also emailed to clarify and to let them know of these discrepancies.

FYI - Caution should always be used when referring to a non-authoritative site for requirements. Neither of those links are authoritative BSA sites. is a BSA site, but it is not an authoritative source for rank advancement. Thank you for contacting them about updating their site!

The official authoritative site for all BSA updates is the “Program Updates” page at . The Cub Scout rank addendums are posted there with the correct rank requirements.

1 Like

Thank you all! According to the official authoritative site for all BSA updates is the “Program Updates” page at

These are the correct requirements (as at Nov 2017)

Bear Badge Requirements
(Effective December 2016)
Rank advancement is awarded when each Scout has done the following:

  1. Complete each of the six required adventures. (Specific requirements for these
    adventures can be found in this addendum.)
    • Bear Claws
    • Bear Necessities
    • Fellowship and Duty to God
    • Fur, Feathers, and Ferns
    • Baloo the Builder
    • Paws for Action
  2. In addition to the six required adventures listed above, complete at least one elective adventure of your den’s or family’s choosing.
  3. With your parent, guardian, or other caring adult, complete the exercises in the pamphlet How to Protect Your Children From Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide.
  4. Earn the Cyber Chip award for your age. (The Cyber Chip portion of this requirement may be waived by your parent or guardian if you do not have access to the internet.)

Awesome, thank you for that link! That is actually super, super helpful. :slight_smile:

I was aware that those weren’t official/authoritative sites, but I didn’t have a better one to go off of, since those sites and the site said two different things - hence why I reached out to them, partly for clarification and partly to get them to update their site.

1 Like