Is this something with the upgrade, or is our conceptual model wrong? We thought that if you uploaded a document and used unit level access, everyone in the troop could see the document. Is that correct? If there is good documentation on what the access levels mean in layman terms, that might be helpful. Thank you.
Unfortunately it is the other way around, only those with Unit Level Access will be able to see the document.
Troop documents viewing is sort of backwards. The level a document is set to determines not who can see it, but what access level can see it. Such as the following:
- Document set to “Self” = Level Access “Self” and above can access it.
- Document set to “Household” = Level Access “Household” and above can access it.
- Document set to “Unit” = Level Access “Unit” and above can access it.
- Document set to “Troop” = Level Access “Troop” can access it.
If you want everyone to be able to see a document, no matter how low their level is, you need to set it to “Self”. If you only want the troop leaders who can see everyone to see a document, you would set the document to “Troop”.
Hopefully this helps.
Thank you - yes, my conceptual model was wrong. But the wording could be better, or the map you have listed could be referenced from the Upload a Document section. When you think about Access level as Self, it truly implies yourself, not some arbitrary word for everyone. Even if Self became Everyone (if it truly is Everyone), then the others would fall into place.